Solving My Tilapia’s Dilemma

Fish is awesome and the taste is also amazing! Don’the get me wrong, I came from a country wIth fish as one of their main products, so literally I’d been consuming them almost every day; although, honestly, I thought that fish can only be fried (ikan goreng) or roasted (ikan bainkar). It never across my simple mind that fish can still be enjoyed when it steamed or baked. Silly me! 😂

That one thing. Another thing is I never cook a Tilapia, so when my sister gave me 4 packs of frozen Tilapia fillet last week, I was like “Huh!?? What I’mean going to do with them??”. But hey! It’s a gift…maybe it’s a sign from Heaven above that I have to start learn something new. So I finally ended up with these 2 recipes:

Chinese Five-Spices Tilapia (fried) – inspired by Eating Well 😉

Serve: 6 – 8 people

Ingredients:

  • 2 packs of Tilapia fillet (@ 56 oz.)
  • For marinating, miix: 2 teaspoons of Chinese five-spices, 1/2 teaspoon of salt.
  • For frying, mix: 2 tablespoonscallions of soy sauce, 1 tablespoon of sugar.
  • For garnish: 2 scallions  (chopped).
  • 2 tablespoon of cooking oil.

Steps:

  • Cut the fish fillet into 4 pieces each, and marinate them – by rubbing both side of the fish. Set them aside for 60 minutes.
  • In a medium skillet: pour 1 tablespoon of cooking oil + half of the frying mixture. Bring it to boil.
  • Put half of the fish into the skilletop. Fries for 3 – 5 minutes. Cook the other half using the same method.
  • Put them in plates, garnish with chopped scallion.

Mixed-Spices Tilapia (baked)

Serve: 6 – 8 people.

Ingredients:

  • 2 packs of Tilapia fillet (@ 56 oz.)
  • For marinating, miix: 2 tablespoons of sweet soy sauce (kecap manis), 1 tablespoon of soy sauce, 1 tablespoon of minced garlic, 1 teaspoon of oyster sauce, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, 1 tablespoon of vinegar, and 1/3 cup of melted butter.
  • For garnish: parsley leaf.

Steps:

  • Cut the fish fillet into 4 pieces each, and marinate them – by rubbing both side of the fish. Set them aside for 30 minutes.
  • Pre-heat the oven at 350 degree F.
  • Put them in baking pan and pour with the remaining marinated sauce and sprinkle with parsley leaves.
  • Baked for 40 minutes.

Hope you enjoy these recipes

Leave a Reply

